Louisiana Lawmaker Wants To Make Aggressive Driving A Crime
You've probably seen it all over Louisiana roadways, been victim to it, or maybe you yourself have done it. Aggressive driving occurs way too much, and one Louisiana lawmaker is looking to help end it.
Louisiana Democratic State Representative Sam Jenkins of Shreveport proposed a new state law that would make aggressive driving a crime. According to KNOE, the idea getting widespread support from fellow lawmakers.
Government figures say that an astounding 66% of traffic deaths in the US are caused by aggressive driving.
This caused Representative Jenkins to propose the law that will go into the next legislative session that starts on April 8th and will conclude no later than June 6th.
The law would be violators in jail if they commit three of a dozen acts in a single trip. It would be up to the officers discretion on whether to issue a summons, or take that person to jail.
The violations include:
(1) Exceeding the posted speed limit.
(2) Violating the maximum speed limit or the general speed law.
(3) Failing to obey traffic control signals or devices.
(4) Overtaking and passing another vehicle on the right by driving off the pavement or main traveled portion of the roadway.
(5) Engaging in unsafe lane changes.
(6) Following too closely.
(7) Failing to yield the right-of-way.
(8) Failing to drive within a marked lane of traffic.
(9) Failing to yield to approaching traffic when approaching or entering an intersection.
(10) Failing to signal when turning or stopping.
(11) Failing to stop at stop signs or yield at yield signs.
(12) Overtaking and passing a school bus when visual signals are in operation on the school bus.
If this becomes law, violators will receive a maximum $500 fine, 6 months in jail and require a court-approved driver improvement plan. Offenders would also lose their driver's license for 6 months, with a potential restricted license for their job.
If there's a second offense within three years, there would be a maximum 1 year jail sentence and a $1,000 fine.