Twenty years after the release of their multi-platinum album, 'Throwing Copper,' Live have announced plans for a brand-new studio record. Not only will 'The Turn' be the band's first LP since 2006, it will be the first studio effort without founding member and original lead singer, Ed Kowalczyk.

While original members Chad Taylor (guitars), Patrick Dahlheimer (bass) and Chad Gracey (drums) are still part of the line-up, they are welcoming a new vocalist to the band.

"The only name suggested by all three of us was Chris Shinn," Taylor said in a statement today (Aug. 27) about the band's new frontman. "There was no audition process. We simply called our friend and asked if he wanted to make Live music." As Taylor describes him, Shinn is "a veteran artist that brought a new dimension of musical skill and credibility to the table."

Shinn is the former lead singer of the alt-rock outfit Unified Theory, and, for a brief moment in 2008, was announced as the new singer for Blind Melon -- though that never came to fruition.

The new album is called 'The Turn' and will be the eighth studio effort released by Live. The band teamed up with Jerry Harrison to assist in the production of the new album; Harrison joined Live for three previous albums: 'Mental Jewelry' (1991), 'Throwing Copper' (1994) and 'The Distance to Here' (1999).

Live - 'The Turn'

'The Turn' will be released via Pledge Music; Live are offering their fans unique experiences including a 30-minute guitar lesson with Taylor. Get details on the venture here, and check out the tracklisting for the new record below. Ten-percent of all proceeds raised through Pledge Music will be donated to Musicians on Call, an organization that brings "music to the bedside of hospital patients that otherwise wouldn't be able to experience it."

More details -- including the album's first single and music video -- will be released over the next few weeks. Stay tuned for more.

'The Turn' Tracklisting
1. 'Sirens Call'
2. 'Don't Run to Wait'
3. 'Natural Born Killers'
4. '6310 Rodgerton Dr.'
5. 'By Design'
6. 'The Way Around is Through'
7. 'Need Tonight'
8. 'The Strength to Hold On'
9. 'We Open the Door'
10. 'He Could Teach the Devil Tricks'
11. 'Till You Came Around'

Watch Live's Official Music Video for 'Lightning Crashes'

More From Classic Rock 105.1