Down are ready to move forward with the next part of their 'Down IV' EPs. 'Down IV - Part Two' is due on May 13 via the band's Down Records and ADA-Music and will give fans of the metal vets a chance to rock hard once again.

The six song offering was recorded by the band's current lineup of Philip H. Anselmo, Pepper Keenan, Jimmy Bower, Pat Bruders and Bobby Landgraf at Anslemo's 'Nodsferatu's Lair' studio in Louisiana. This marks the band's first release without longtime guitarist Kirk Windstein, with Landgraf stepping up to take on the guitar duties with Keenan.

"He was immediately at home," says Anselmo of Landgraf. "Bobby had always been that guy in case of anything. Knowing his personality, he really locked in with what we do and took it to heart. He made himself belong. Honestly, the first day he came down he contributed a very strong riff to a key song. There's that Southern element, which is imperative. I also catch a real old heavy metal vibe from this record. I can't stress this enough. He took it all on, and he did a f---ing awesome job."

Keenan echoed those sentiments, adding, "Even with the lineup differences, it's interesting how the songs still sound very Down. Bobby and I have always locked in. It's not just physically either, but mentally as well. We see eye-to-eye, and he's been watching for a long time."

Landgraf says that the day he drove in from Texas and played his first part for the band and saw their reactions was when he knew it was going to be good. "I'm a longtime fan, and I knew we were friends," says Landgraf. "But being part of the writing and working towards something together was just incredible. As a guitar player, one of my goals was to be in a group like this. I want to make everyone proud."

'Down IV - Part Two' is the second in a series of EPs from the band and the quickest turnaround between new music for the group. Anselmo says that everyone was fixated on the quick turnaround and stepped up their game and this disc was definitely a collaborative effort. "Having all of this fresh input makes for a different listen and a new perspective on what Down should and does sound like. All of that yields a unique record off the bat."

Down will now prepare to take their new music on the road. They've got a trek booked with Black Label Society that launches May 2 in Birmingham, Ala. To see the dates, click the button below.

Down, 'Down IV - Part Two' Track Listing

1. 'Steeple'
2. 'We Knew Him Well'
3. 'Hogshead/Dogshead'
4. 'Conjure'
5. 'Sufferer's Years'
6. 'Bacchanalia'

More From Classic Rock 105.1